Tags

,

Prompts:
1. She moved like a breeze
2. Now, that’s funny!
3. I’m not your problem

BEGIN WRITING:
“All right, I agreed to meet you here, and here I am. What’s this all about?”

I looked at my ex across the restaurant table and drummed my nails on the hard surface. As far as I was concerned, we had nothing to discuss. He seemed to feel otherwise.

“C’mon, MacKenzie,” he wheedled. “Just because we split up doesn’t mean we can’t be friends. I knew you’d be feeling a little down today.” I should have known. Alex was a master at the words-without-meaning stuff. I scoffed and picked up my purse as I stood up.

“You were worried about me? Now, that’s funny. You were the one who walked, remember? I’m not your problem anymore.” It was as good a line as any to make my big exit on.

“Wait a minute.” He grabbed my arm gently, and held me with his eyes. “I wanted to explain. I never meant to hurt you, you know.” I knew better than to listen to him again. There wasn’t a chance in the world that he had anything to say that could heal the hurt. I knew his ready words too well.

Besides, he already had me at a disadvantage. He was right; today was rough, the anniversary of the day we moved in together and proclaimed to the world that this was it. This was forever.

Forever lasted nearly four years before his wandering eye went a little too far and took him with it. Four years until he decided that some other girl was his new “forever”.

But he was still Alex, and I couldn’t make myself take that big first step away from him. I sat, tentatively, on the upholstered chair and kept my purse in my hands.

“I couldn’t help it, Mac,” he told me. “It was just something that hit me without warning. I didn’t even know who she was. All I could see was this vision, not beautiful, not tall & blonde, not any of the things you are. But her hair fell over her shoulders like satin ribbons and she moved like a breeze on the beach at twilight.”

My heart ached as I watched him try to make me understand.

“Do you think this makes it better?” I cried. “All I ever wanted was to make you happy, and you left me for some stranger because you like the way her hair moves?”

A waitress walked slowly past our table, but didn’t stop. I couldn’t blame her.

PENCILS DOWN

