Tags

, ,

Prompt: It’s time

BEGIN WRITING:

The clock struck midnight somewhere around ten o’clock. It didn’t confuse Jessica, mainly because that stupid clock had been striking midnight at all hours of the day.

She should have known better than to buy the beautiful but, as it turned out, unreliable timepiece from Mr. Pretorius. Everyone knew he was a little strange, and Jessica should have expected that his clock would be the same.

“You won’t be disappointed,” he’d told her when he supervised the delivery of the tall grandfather clock to her front door. “You’ll find that there are lovely and amazing secrets about this clock. It’s been one of my favorites for years.” He patted the antique wood lovingly.

“But, Mr. Pretorius,” Jess asked. “Why are you selling it if you love it that much?”

He smiled at her standing there just inside the door.

“It’s time,” he said. “It’s just time for me to move on to other things. I know I’m passing it on to someone who can make good use of it. You’ll explore and find the magic in it.”

Jess looked up in surprise. “Magic?”

“There is magic in everything, you know.” The old man seemed to age further before her eyes. “One can use all the magic, whether it be in music, or art, or a relationship between people, or even a clock. Then, once the magic is spent, one must move on and let someone else find their own magic in it.”

He swayed slightly, and Jessica put out a hand to steady him. “Mr. Pretorius, won’t you come in the living room and sit down? I can get you some tea…”

“No, my dear. Thank you for your thought, but I must be on my way. As I said, it’s time.”

PENCILS DOWN

